Hiding in Fred and Ginger

Monday, April 20, 2009: I have started rewatching the Fred Astaire/Ginger Rogers films from the 1930s. My favorites are The Gay Divorcee, Top Hat and Shall We Dance. The dancing is, of course, always outstanding, but I am also drawn to the onscreen relationship between Ginger and Fred. It was free and easy, not complicated at all. The sets are out of this world because of their Art Deco elegance. At this so problematic part of my life, the Fred Astaire/Ginger Rogers movies help me cope with what may lie ahead for me. The films help me escape (much like it must have helped people during the Depression) into a world where money is not a great big issue and being alone just doesn’t exist.

2 Responses to “Hiding in Fred and Ginger”

  1. mrred Says:

    Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

  2. Beccar Says:

    Thank you. I appreciate your liking my blog. Eugenia

Leave a Reply

