Green Tiles

Monday, July 13, 2009: I stared at the little square kitchen tiles. This is what a kitchen should look like, I thought. I want to have a kitchen like this again. And I sighed. The walls of the loft were made of brick and there was a little balcony with some plants. From where I was sitting I could see the Williamsburgh Bridge. I wouldn’t mind the screeching noise the subway makes as it goes by if I could live in a place like this. At any rate, I could put some sort of insulating glass. Before I left, I took one last look. The kitchen cabinets were white, nice and shiny–the way they should be. The oven was a real oven and I noticed a tea kettle on one of the burners. A home is a home. You can’t get around it!

Leave a Reply

