Homelessness–Let Me Count the Ways

Friday, December 18, 2009: Today, on the second anniversary of my arrival back in the U.S., I want to talk about homelessness of the soul. I have had this condition (I don’t know what else to call it) for several years. It has followed me everywhere, like a bad disease I couldn’t get rid of.  When I lost my home in GA, the homelessness became physical. It hurt in a different, more poignant and practical way. I learned what it is to go here and there, everywhere looking for help and not find it. I knew what it is not to have a safe roof over my head. I became invisible. I have remained invisible (so much against my will) ever since. I have been forced to leave a place I don’t want to leave yet again.

Leave a Reply

