German Manners

German Manners

The subway was crowded, but lots of people got off at Grand Central. I was carrying lots of bags and wanted nothing more than to sit. There was a seat right by the subway doors. Excuse me, I said, to a couple of young German tourists in their early 20s. They, so unfailingly polite, got in front of me and took that seat and the one next to it. I glared at them. Don’t you have a mother? I asked them. They gave me a blank stare, playing the usual dumb game. No, I guess you don’t, I told them, taking a seat all the way on the other side.

Leave a Reply

