Heart of Gold

While we waited at the Humane Society, a woman who I later learned had taken her cat to be euthanized told another person waiting for the vet that her other 3 cats had wanted to get her sick cat out of the cage when she put him in there. They love him, she said. I thought back at the times that I would take Lauchita to the vet on the next block and Leo, who would look at her inside the cage. He would shake his head and tail, as if saying: Why are you putting her in there? Where are you taking her? I felt, before and at the time that I had to give Leo up on account of the bad neighbors we had in Buenos Aires, that I was letting my son go off with strangers. I always think about that dog and about his kind heart—he was a little rough around the edges, but his heart was 24 Karat.hile we waited at the Humane Society, a woman who I later learned had taken her cat to be euthanized told another person waiting for the vet that her other 3 cats had wanted to get her sick cat out of the cage when she put him in there. They love him, she said. I thought back at the times that I would take Lauchita to the vet on the next block and Leo, who would look at her inside the cage. He would shake his head and tail, as if saying: Why are you putting her in there? Where are you taking her? I felt, before and at the time that I had to give Leo up on account of the bad neighbors we had in Buenos Aires, that I was letting my son go off with strangers. I always think about that dog and about his kind heart—he was a little rough around the edges, but his heart was 24 Karat.

Leave a Reply

