Home Dreaming

Wednesday, April 28, 2010: She looked at the pictures of the condo for sale in Chicago. If I had the money and could get this one, I would move to the Windy City. The kitchen was huge and the refrigerator brand new, a shiny grey. The bed had a white comforter and pillows with brown pillow cases. If I could only rest my head there, she thought. The living room had great big windows and looked out onto the street. There were dark green trees outside. The balcony had a table and four chairs. I would drink coffee in the morning and read the New York Times. The bathroom–she saved the best for last. To soak my body in there and forget the world, this world. To just be me for once.

Leave a Reply

