The Squirrel

The Squirrel

I could see that he was scared. I was near Greenpoint sitting in a square with a Polish name, feeding the birds. The little squirrel’s eyes opened wide. He looked at the birds eating hungrily and he wanted some of that too. I threw a few pieces of bread crumbs at him and he took them in his little paws. You are starving, I said. Here. Take some more. I approached him and realized it was the wrong time to do. He took a few baby steps back and I threw more bread crumbs and left the park. I glanced at him from the sidewalk. There he was, happily eating away.

2 Responses to “The Squirrel”

  1. alex Says:

    This is a lovely piece of writing captures a sweet moment

  2. Eugenia Says:

    Alex, Thank you again for your comment. I appreciate your always reading my blog. Yeni

Leave a Reply

