Walking

Walking

This afternoon I could do nothing else. Everything seemed hopeless (and it is) so I walked to Bushwick in Brooklyn. In movement, I don’t think. I don’t need to. I had never been in that neighborhood. It is not the most comfortable of places, but there were a lot of people on the streets and a few cops. My life situation depresses me. I had to do something, make a move in some sort of direction. Tourism, even the mini kind, helps my brain. I need distraction in great big doses. While I walked to Bushwick and asked people for directions, I had no choice but to hear that sound again—the sound of the subway going BOOM, BOOM< BOOM.

One Response to “Walking”

  1. Eugenia Says:

    Thank you, Don Gregorio. I have noticed that Bushwick can be a little rough. Eugenia

Leave a Reply

