7, Count. 7

 

I don’t wear a watch anymore. I have learned to ask people on the street what time it is. At one time I had 7 gold watches. Some of these watches were 14 karat gold, some were 18 karat. A couple of watches had diamond faces. All this is gone. The only cheap watch I had up to a few weeks ago was one I bought for $10 in Norfolk, VA 2 years ago. It broke and I haven’t been able to fix it. I have kept the watch for sentimental reasons. I love and miss Norfolk. When I feel sad I think back to my sister’s neighborhood with the nice houses, green lawns and shady trees.

Leave a Reply

