Sister Carrie

Sister Carrie is one of my favorite books from my teenage years and I am glad I am reading it again. I feel a connection with Hurstwood. In Chicago, he was used to a good comfortable sort of life and now, in New York, he has to struggle. The struggle depresses him and he hides in reading newspaper accounts of people who resemble the man he once was. I can also relate to his not having money coming in when there are bills to pay and pay. It reminds me of Atlanta, GA, when I had that mortgage to take care of and I was running out of money fast. The character of Hurstwood’s wife does not seem very nice and he did love Carrie, but she does not really love him. Hurstwood sacrificed so much to be with Carrie and it turned out to have been a tragic mistake.

Leave a Reply

