Down, Down

Her face touched the pavement. There must be something wrong with the sidewalk, someone nearby said. She saw a man’s black trousers. Could you please help me up? She asked him. His strong arms pushed her up. She looked at him and smiled. Thank you, she said. You have to be careful, he told her. The sidewalks need fixing. She nodded and limped to the phone book on the corner. I need fixing too. It has to be done ASAP. There were too many reminders today. The questions they asked during class reminded me of how bad it all is. And then I saw a dog like my dead dog. I must have loved him more than I realize. Too many things, she repeated to herself walking up the street.

Leave a Reply

