December 22, 2010

December 22, 2010:

Today would have been her birthday. She was a woman with a hard life. She was a person who never forgot her widowed mother, though she outlived her by 54 years. She lived in Buenos Aires at the height of the Peron era. Evita was the Lady Bountiful who went around being good to her people. My mother admired Evita but knew she could not have her jewels and furs. That was fine with her. She worked in a factory 6 days a week and before she met my father, had lots of suitors. My mother became a mother almost by accident. During my childhood she was the best when I got sick.

One Response to “December 22, 2010”

  1. alex Says:

    Mom was really wild when I think about it- when she got mad and stubborn she was downright scary , other times she enjoyed a good laugh-she was actually a pretty fiery passionate person-must have been a roller coaster ride for her boyfriends and husbands. As a mother she was too protective in my estimation-really tried to scare me off doing stuff like staying out late or having friends(she really didn’t trust people) somehow I survived her and learned to enjoy her nuttiness in her later years. A real character!

Leave a Reply

