Towards

Towards

You pulled me towards them. You wanted to go back to their house. I did not hold it against you. When I travelled to that faraway land and couldn’t take you with me, I had left you in their care. It was only a temporary arrangement. I could never give you up. I had loved your original owner as if she had been a relative. She and you had been my family. She died and you were the only living being I had to link me to her. Loyalty was built in in you. You protected your people no matter what. You protected me. And even after they left you and wanted you no more, you protected them. Your own safety wasn’t important. As long as the ones you cared for were safe.

One Response to “Towards”

  1. alex Renskoff Says:

    So heartfelt and touching.

Leave a Reply

