Old Lady

Old Lady

She was my aunt, my Tia. She was my friend, my protector. We spent the last few years of her life together. When she died, I was not able to be with her, to hold her hand. The words old ladies always mean my Tia. They mean kindness, a little toughness, a diamond in the rough, a person who cared about me. I cared about her too. We had to become reacquainted. It wasn’t easy because too much time had passed. We were different people when we met again after many years. I loved her and when she died I looked for her in other ladies her age and older. It was like I had to have my Tia even if the original one was no longer alive.

 

Leave a Reply

