October 28th

Today would have been the birthday (number 102) of Esther, my neighbor in Argentina. Esther was the lady who lived on the next block (next to the ex bakery). She was 93 years old, had a dog named Bambi whom she adored and her niece was kicking her out. The niece(her nearest relative) had her doped up with a cocktail of drugs and put her in a nursing home. They came to pick her up and Bambi was very distressed when his owner was gone. I had offered to find Esther another apt. with me paying the rent but the niece wouldn’t go for the idea. She was tied up to her chair in the nursing home. I tried other things to help Esther—like asking a radio show host for help and some of our neighbors. I came back to the U.S. (this was when I still had my GA condo) and called the nursing home. Poor Esther! She knew who I was but she was really drugged. There was no need for that. She was a smart, sassy woman and Bambi was her only real family.

Leave a Reply

