You, 3 Years

You, 3 Years How can I believe that you have been gone from me for so long? 3 years are more than an eternity, dear little one. 3 years are weeks and months of not being able to forget you—of not being able to forgive myself. I left you behind not knowing that you were going to die without me being near you. I remember the long, very long, walks we took together all over our neighborhood and the surrounding area. You knew the best places. I thought you had been born in a mansion and that somehow you had wound up on the street, just another stray dog. That night that we went for a walk at 10. It started to rain and we had to seek refuge under the awning of a furniture store. We stayed until the rain stopped. You smiled at me with your trusting eyes and I smiled back. We were soul mates.

One Response to “You, 3 Years”

  1. alex Says:

    I always enjoy your wonderful memories of your loyal friend. They are pure love

Leave a Reply

