Little Animal Abandoned

Abandon

I am a dog or a cat abandon in the drop box in a shelter. I am a little animal living in a cage, with my paws up, trying to get out. I am a living being bewildered by what has happened to me. If God exists, then I can’t make out why he wants me to go through this experience. It is no fun. God must realize this. It hurts and it hurts me, the little dog or cat. In an ad I beg to have someone please give me a home. I am litter trained or I know how to use the doggie door, I say. My eyes look expectantly at the camera when someone takes my picture for the ad. If I don’t get out soon, if I don’t find an owner to take care of me, I will die. I don’t want to die. I am a dog or a cat. I want to play and have fun. I want to run around. I want to live. Please let me live. I have heard that unwanted animals are given an injection in the leg or gassed. Gassing isn’t nice. I have heard that a whole bunch of little animals are put inside a container and the container is closed shut. The gas is turned on. The little animals fight with one another to get out, but they can’t. They die struggling to live. There is no guarantee they go to Doggie or Cat Heaven. I don’t know what happens to the little stiff bodies but it can’t be too good. The injection is faster and maybe a little kinder, but death is death. You don’t see or hear anything. I want to see. I want to hear. I want to love and have my owner love me. I am loyal and I am brave. I will protect you from harm and I know you will protect me.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Little Animal Abandoned”

  1. alex Renskoff Says:

    Powerful. Maybe just not enough love in the world.

Leave a Reply

