Water

Water

The day was hot. The humidity made it feel a lot hotter. I knew just by looking at you how uncomfortable you were. You pulled a little too hard on your leash. Let’s get this business over with and go back home. It’s cooler there than out here.

You saw a bucket full of water by the door of a Laundromat. You pulled a little more and we stopped. First one paw, your right paw, then the left paw. After you were done, I put my own hand inside the bucket. It’s nice and cold, I said. You looked up at me and smiled. I put my hand in again and got a fist full of water. I brushed your head and your neck until we were both ready to go home.

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

