How I Keep Sane

How I Keep Sane

A beautiful brownstone here, a brick building there. Another building or house over in the next block made of stone, yet another made of limestone. A house painted blue, and the one next to it pink or dark green. Some houses have several steps leading up to the front door, some just a few. The second story of most, if not all, the homes is the star. The ceilings are quite high, with ornate and delicate details in the center. The light fixtures hanging from the ceilings are often round, sometimes rectangular. The addresses, the exact addresses. I don’t want to forget these houses. I write down as many as I can. As people walk by me, I stare at the buildings. I look up at the lights behind the windows. I  am sane.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “How I Keep Sane”

  1. Kathy Jones Says:

    I LOVE these short pieces. I feel almost as if I’m reading your diary. Have you ever thought about piecing them together to make a book or short story?

    See what I do here at: http://www.ariverofstones.com.

    • beccar Says:

      Thank you, Kathy. Yes, these are part of a book I am writing slowly because I work out of the public library. I appreciate your comments. Eugenia Renskoff

  2. michael Says:

    like the blog style..are these about you or just random thoughts?

Leave a Reply

