My Beloved

There you were, on the shower tiles. The weather was hot and it didn’t help things. I changed the bandages around your legs every 2 hours. Your legs were bleeding but I did not know why. The vet never told me. Your large body was ill. You had been so strong, so full of energy and life. There was no cure. No hope. Now almost 6 years later, when I see a German shepherd on the street I think of you. I think of you every single day. I miss you. I miss the way you’d pull me on the leash. I miss your eyes looking at me, asking to be petted, asking for food.

2 Responses to “My Beloved”

  1. darlenecraviotto Says:

    So sad when we lose a four-legged friend. I’m sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

